Date set for 2024 provincial championship draws

October 04, 2023

The draws for next year's provincial football championships will be made live tonight (Thursday) on RTÉ 2

The draws for the 2024 provincial football championships will be made on Saturday, October 21.

RTÉ Radio 1’s Saturday Sport will carry live coverage of the draws. There will be considerable interest in the Ulster SFC where returning Donegal manager Jim McGuinness could cross paths with new Derry boss Mickey Harte. The four teams that contested the preliminary round over the last two years (Tyrone, Fermanagh, Armagh and Antrim) cannot be in that round again.

Instead, two from Cavan, Derry, Donegal, Down and Monaghan will be chosen to face off, with that fixture and the remaining seven teams then drawn into quarter-final pairings.

All-Ireland champions Dublin will be one of four seeded teams in the Leinster SFC draw along with Kildare, Offaly and Louth, who reached this year’s semi-finals. They will be joined by one of Carlow, Laois, Longford, Meath, Wexford, Westmeath and Wicklow, with the other six contesting three first round ties.

In the Connacht SFC, it’s Mayo’s turn to travel to New York, while Galway are London-bound in the quarter-final stage. Two of Leitrim, Sligo and Roscommon will meet in the other quarter-final, with one of them receiving a bye to the semi-finals.

Kerry and Clare receive a bye to the Munster SFC semi-finals after contesting last year’s final, while an open draw will decide the two quarter-finals involving Cork, Tipperary, Waterford and Limerick.

The round-robin system in the Munster SHC and Leinster SHC means no hurling draws are required.

Most Read Stories