Kilkenny SHC final: Five-star Ballyhale make it three-in-a-row

September 27, 2020

Ballyhale Shamrocks' Eoin Reid celebrates with Eoin Cody. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

Ballyhale Shamrocks 5-19

Dicksboro 1-10

Reigning All-Ireland champions Ballyhale Shamrocks completed a three-in-a-row of Kilkenny SHC titles thanks to a comfortable success over 2017 winners Dicksboro at UPMC Nowlan Park this afternoon.

Three goals by Eoin Reid (2) and Eoin Cody in as many minutes during the closing stages applied the gloss to Ballyhale's 21-point victory after Brian Cody and Colin Fennelly had netted in the first-half to give them a 2-9 to 0-7 lead at the break.

In truth, Shamrocks should have won by an even more convincing margin as they missed a number of goal chances against Dicksboro's woeful defence. Andy Gaffney's strike for Mark Dowling's side was only a mere consolation after Reid and Cody had done the damage.

Ballyhale Shamrocks' Richie Reid lifts the Tom Walsh Cup. ©INPHO/Laszlo Geczo.

The impressive Reid (2-2) shared the scoring honours with his brother TJ who was responsible for eight points in another breathtaking display from the holders. They could dominate Kilkenny hurling for a while longer.

Ballyhale Shamrocks - D Mason; B Butler, J Holden, D Mullen; D Corcoran (0-1), R Reid, P Mullen (0-1); E Shefflin, R Corcoran (0-3); B Cody (1-1), TJ Reid (0-8, 3f, 3'65), E Cody (1-1); E Reid (2-2), C Fennelly (1-0), J Cuddihy (0-1). Subs: C Walsh (0-1) for J Cuddihy, E Kenneally for E Reid, G Butler for B Butler, M Aylward for B Cody, K Mullen for P Mullen.

Dicksboro - D Holohan; C Fitzpatrick, Evan Cody, E Carroll (0-1); O Walsh, C Buckley, E Kenny; C Doheny, R Fitzpatrick; C Kavanagh, S Stapleton (0-7f), L Moore; B Sheehan (0-1), E Gough, M Nolan. Subs: O Gough for C Kavanagh, A Gaffney (1-1) for M Nolan, A Nolan for E Gough, M Gaffney for L Moore, M Fagan for R Fitzpatrick.

Referee - R Byrne.

Most Read Stories