Team news: Tipp U20s show hand for Munster opener

October 19, 2020

Conor Bowe celebrates a goal for Tipperary in the 2019 Munster U20HC final

Tipperary have named their line-up for tonight’s Munster U20 hurling championship quarter-final against Clare in Thurles.

The Premier men’s starting 15 includes 13 of last year’s panel which captured the All-Ireland championship crown last year under Liam Cahill. 

John Devane has since come in to succeed now Waterford senior boss Cahill and has named Eoghan Connolly of Cashel King Cormacs to captain the side from centre-back and is flanked by Fintan Purcell (Drom-Inch) and Ray McCormack (Borris-Ileigh).

McCormack’s club mate Kevin Maher partners Toomevara’s Kevin McCarthy at centre-field, while in attack Kian O’Kelly of Kilruane MacDonaghs leads the line at full-forward.

Throw-in at Semple Stadium is at 7.30pm.

Tipperary (Munster U20HC v Clare): Aaron Browne; Johnny Ryan, Conor Whelan, Eanna McBride; Fintan Purcell, Eoghan Connolly, Ray McCormack; Kevin Maher, Kevin McCarthy; Gearoid O’Connor, Conor Bowe, Devon Ryan; Andrew Ormonde, Kian O’Kelly, Sean Hayes.

Subs: Rhys Skelly, Darragh Flannery, John Ryan, Keith Ryan, Kieran Moloney, Max Hackett, Jack Morrissey, Sean Ryan, James Devaney.

Most Read Stories