Open titles for McElduff and McMahon at Irish Wallball Nationals

July 03, 2017

Tyrone's Conor McElduff and Martina McMahon won the Men's and Ladies Open titles respectively at a packed Breaffy House Sports Arena on Saturday night. The Saturday night finals have become a major success and this year's finals were no exception as a packed Breaffy House witnessed two gripping encounters.


McElduff who last won the title in 2015 was in imperious form against former champion Charly Shanks (Armagh) as he blitzed into an early lead in game one. Shanks who won the title on three previous occasions fought back and came within one ace of levelling the game at 14-13. However one slip let McElduff in and he made no mistake in closing out the game 15-14 much to the relief of his supporters present. It was a blow to Shanks who had fought hard to get back in the game but it came to no avail. 


The second game saw McElduff start like a train and before long he had opened a sizeable lead at 7-1. Shanks managed to claw a few scores back but McElduff went on another scoring streak and this time there would be no comeback as he closed the game out 15-5 and with that secured his third title. 


The Ladies Open Final was a repeat of last year's decider as four time champion Lorraine Havern took on Limerick's Martina McMahon a previous winner in 2014. On that occasion the Down lady took the title but McMahon was in a determined mood to gain some revenge this time around. In a ruthless first game she blitzed her way to a 15-4 victory as she set out her stall. In the second Havern responded but McMahon was in a determined mood not to let another title slip and she closed out a 15-9 win to take her second title. 


On Sunday a host of semi finals and finals take place as titles will be decided from 13&Under to Over 70 as the action comes to a close. 

Most Read Stories