GAA on TV: Leinster final classics on the last dry weekend

April 29, 2021

A Wexford supporter buys a match programme before his side's Leinster SHC quarter-final clash against Laois at O'Moore Park, Portlaoise.
©INPHO/Tommy Grealy.

This weekend is the last before live GAA coverage returns. The reruns have kept us going but we can’t wait until 8 May.

Saturday 1 May


11am: Cluichí na Bliana

A hugely entertaining Cork hurling final between city clubs Blackrock and Glen Rovers resulted in a first senior crown for the Rockies since 2002. The game went to extra-time and marked heartbreak at the final hurdle for Glen Rovers for the second successive year.

eir Sports 1

8pm: Kilkenny v Tipperary, All-Ireland SHC final 2010

Kilkenny were on the Drive for Five having won the previous four titles but Tipperary and Lar Corbett were planning a surprise.

eir Sports 1

9.25pm: Cork v Down, All-Ireland SFC final 2010

The 2010 All-Ireland SFC Final saw Cork and Down meet for the first time in the Croke Park decider, with both counties chasing a first Sam Maguire since the early 1990s.

Sunday 2 May


5.25pm: Laochra Gael

For the Series Finale of Laochra Gael comes the story of Liam Griffin. He was inspired by the Rackards and their likes as he grew up, but Wexford hurling was in dire straits when Liam was made manager in 1995. It went from bad to worse from the start with heavy defeats and controversy. In his second year as manager, unbeknownst to anyone he would be stepping down as soon as Wexford were out of the championship because of his wife Mary's illness. As it happened, they went all the way in 1996. He wasn't there for long but Liam Griffin's legacy will live forever.

eir Sports 2

7pm: Dublin v Kildare, Leinster SFC final 2000

The 2000 Leinster SFC Final at Croke Park pitted the 1998 champions Kildare against a Dublin side who last won the provincial title in 1995.

eir Sports 2

8.30pm: Laois v Kildare, Leinster SFC final 2003

The 2003 Leinster SFC Final at Croke Park saw the previous year's runners-up Kildare take on Mick O'Dwyer's Laois, who last tasted provincial glory way back in 1946.

Most Read Stories