Sligo SHC final: Easkey capture first title in 57 years

September 27, 2020

Markievicz Park, the home of Sligo GAA.

Easkey 1-17

Naomh Eoin 2-13

Easkey captured their first Sligo senior hurling championship title in 57 years with a one-point victory over 2019 champions Naomh Eoin at Markievicz Park today.

Although Andrew Kilcullen fired home an early goal for Easkey, the holders were 2-8 to 1-7 to the good at the half-time whistle after Arthur Wall and Liam O'Kelly Lynch responded with green flags.

In a closely fought finish, Gerard O’Kelly Lynch's eleventh point of the contest from a '65 appeared to have done enough for Naomh Eoin, until James Weir brought the sides level and Thomas Cawley struck what proved to be the match-winning point.

Most Read Stories