U17HC final: Cork edge out Dubs

06 August 2017

Cork players celebrate after winning the All-Ireland U17HC title.
©INPHO/Tommy Grealy.

Cork 1-19

Dublin 1-17

Cork are the inaugural All-Ireland U17 hurling champions after they defeated Dublin in the first part of today's hurling triple-header at Croke Park.

Parading eight of their Munster minor winning side, the Rebels recovered from a sluggish start to edge a close contest. Dublin led by 0-4 to 0-1 early on thanks to points from Tom Aherne, Billy Ryan, Liam Murphy and Kevin Kirwan, but Cork rallied with scores from free-taker Daire Connery, Colin O'Brien and Declan Hannon to regain parity at 0-5 each.

Goalkeeper Eddie Gibbons' 19th minute penalty goal restored Dublin's three-point advantage, 1-6 to 0-6, but a Joe Stack major in the 27th minute gave John Considine's side the slenderest of leads, 1-9 to 1-8, at the interval.

Kilmacud Crokes clubman Gibbons had to settle for a point from his second penalty six minutes after the restart as the Dubs briefly regained the lead, 1-11 to 1-10. But the Leesiders gradually gained the upperhand through scores from Hanlon, Connery, Cormac O'Brien, Colin O'Brien and Owen McCarthy to open up a three-point lead.

A Lee Gannon point left two in it at the final whistle. Many of the same players will return to Croke Park next Sunday when Cork and Dublin face off for a place in the last-ever All-Ireland minor hurling decider. 

Cork - E Davis; E Roche, C Nyhan, R Sheehan; C O’Brien (0-1), C O’Callaghan, A Walsh Barry; D Connery (0-6, 5f), S Twomey; T O’Connell, D Hanlon (0-3), B Roche; B Murphy (0-2), J Stack (1-0), C O’Brien (0-5, 3f). Subs: O McCarthy (0-2) for T O’Connell, S Barrett for B Murphy.

Dublin - E Gibbons (1-1, 1-0pen, 0-1f); A Dunphy, K Burke, T Kinnane; S Kinsella, E O’Donnell (0-1), L Gannon (0-2); T Aherne (0-1), M Murphy (0-1f); M Grogan (0-1), B Ryan (0-2), K Kirwan (0-1); L Murphy (0-7f), K Desmond, L McDwyer. Subs: S Clerkin for K Desmond, L Dunne for M Murphy, M Sweeney for K Kirwan.

Referee - J Keane.